SiteGuard Server Edition command injection added to KEV (CVE-2026-106931)
At a glance
| Severity | CRITICAL |
|---|---|
| CVSS | CVE-2026-106931: 8.5 |
| EPSS (30-day exploit probability) | CVE-2026-106931: 1.2% |
| In CISA KEV (exploited) | Yes, due 2026-10-23 |
| Vendor | EG Secure Solutions |
| CVE IDs | CVE-2026-106931 |
CISA added a SiteGuard Server Edition vulnerability, CVE-2026-106931, to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities (KEV) catalog on 20 October 2026, which means exploitation in the wild is confirmed. The flaw is an OS command injection in the EG Secure Solutions product, and CISA’s KEV entry sets a remediation due date of 23 October 2026 for US federal agencies.
Whether or not you are a federal agency, treat the KEV listing as the signal to act: this SiteGuard Server Edition vulnerability can let an attacker run arbitrary commands with root or SYSTEM privileges on the host.
What happened
The vulnerability was published in NVD on 14 October 2026. It is an OS command injection (CWE-78): the product passes attacker-influenced input to the operating system in a way that lets commands be executed. According to the NVD description, a successful attacker could run arbitrary OS commands with root or SYSTEM privileges on the system running the affected product.
CISA added it to KEV on 20 October 2026. How the exploitation was observed, who is exploiting it and how widely have not been disclosed in the information available to us. CISA lists known ransomware campaign use as Unknown.
Am I affected?
If you run SiteGuard Server Edition from EG Secure Solutions, assume you are in scope until you have checked the vendor advisory. NVD lists these affected version ranges for the e-guardian siteguard product:
- 7.00
- 8.00
- 2.20 up to but not including 3.10
- 2.20 up to but not including 7.00
- 2.20 up to but not including 8.00
- 4.10 up to but not including 8.00
These ranges overlap and the fixed versions are not stated in the data we have, so confirm exact fixed releases with the vendor. The vendor alert is at eg-secure.co.jp and the Japanese coordination centre has a note at JVN.
Technical details
- Weakness: CWE-78, OS command injection (attacker-controlled input reaches a system command).
- Severity: CVSS 4.0 base score 8.5 (High) in NVD.
- Attack vector: the CVSS vector records a local attack vector (AV:L) with low privileges required (PR:L) and no user interaction. That sits uneasily with how KEV flaws are normally abused remotely, and the sources do not explain how the attack is delivered. Do not assume it is local-only, and do not assume it is remote: exposure is not disclosed.
- Impact: high confidentiality, integrity and availability impact on the vulnerable system.
- EPSS: 0.0117 (about 1.2%). EPSS estimates the chance of exploitation in the next 30 days; KEV status outranks it here because exploitation has already been observed.
- KEV: added 2026-10-20, due 2026-10-23.
Why this matters
Analysis, not new facts. A command injection that yields root or SYSTEM is a strong foothold: whoever lands it controls the host and anything it can reach. The low EPSS figure and the local vector in the score can make this look like a medium-priority item in a vulnerability scanner queue. The KEV listing should override that. A three-day federal deadline is short, and defenders should match it for any internet-facing or business-critical SiteGuard deployment.
The required action from CISA is to apply vendor mitigations, follow BOD 26-04 guidance on prioritizing security updates based on risk and its forensics triage requirements, and discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
How to detect exploitation
No indicators of compromise have been published in the sources we reviewed. These hunting ideas follow from the nature of the flaw:
- Look for unexpected child processes (shells, scripting engines, download tools) spawned by the SiteGuard service or web component.
- Review account creation, scheduled tasks, services and cron entries on affected hosts since mid-October 2026.
- Check outbound connections from the server that it does not normally make.
- Preserve logs and a disk or memory image before cleaning up, in line with CISA’s forensics triage requirement.
What to do
- Inventory every SiteGuard Server Edition install and note its version against the ranges above.
- Read the vendor alert and apply the vendor’s mitigations or fixed release as soon as possible; for federal systems, by 23 October 2026.
- Restrict network access to the product to trusted management networks until it is fixed.
- Hunt for signs of prior compromise using the ideas above; if you find any, treat the host as fully compromised because the attacker may hold root or SYSTEM.
- If no mitigation is available for your version, follow CISA’s direction and stop using the product.
- Tell asset owners and your incident response team, and track the item to closure.
Related coverage
Sources
- CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog: CVE-2026-106931
- NVD: CVE-2026-106931
- EG Secure Solutions SiteGuard alert
- JVN88474777
